Four Seasons of Church Life

In this personal message, David Varney teaches on theĀ Four Seasons of Church LifeĀ as understood from the perspective of Israel’s experience.

In Deuteronomy, Moses addresses the entire covenant community before they cross over the Jordan River to enter the Promised Land.

Church planting can sometimes feel like a long period in the wilderness, but we see from Deuteronomy 8 that there is purpose in the wilderness – God means for us to grow in humility and faith, to depend on him above everything else in life.

Wilderness is not fun, but it is necessary. It is only there that growth in humility and faith can truly develop.

In this sermon we discuss each of the four seasons a church may find itself in, and think about how we may progress towards longterm health and multiplication.

  1. Wilderness
  2. Established
  3. Declining
  4. Death

Main Text

Deuteronomy 8:1-20


David Varney, pastor Foundation Church Belfast

Foundation Church Belfast

We are a gospel-centred, Spirit-empowered community on mission. We meet every Sunday 10:30am Belmont Tower, Belfast, BT4 3FG.

Our vision is to catalyse the gospel transformation of our city and nation.

We are part of the Advance Movement of churches, partnering together in Ireland and across the globe to plant and strengthen churches.

Follow us